Post Your Poems on Compassion Here

December 1, 2010 at 11:25 am (Poems)

You can either email them directly to Jessica Howell or John Browne – or click “Leave Comment” at the bottom of the page. Click Here for three poems on the theme of ‘Compassion’ to inspire you and/or see the guidelines below that were used in the Salon workshop

Exercise 1: Lists (example, “Art of Losing”) List everything you can think of that falls into a certain category (such as ‘things I have lost’). You may find the beginnings of a poem, or a wonderful line, in your list. Make a list of fears, losses, happy memories, accomplishments, dreams—whatever you can think of. Take some of the ideas from these lists, and see if you can expand upon them.

Exercise 2: Sensory Observations (example, “Sleeping in the Forest”) Stop and pay attention to the smaller things around you. Make observations like “I see… I hear… I feel… I smell… I taste…” You can do this exercise anywhere at anytime. Try it on the bus, at work, in a classroom, on a park bench. You may be surprised at the observations you make, and the opportunities for poetry that you find.

Exercise 3: Describing an Object or Picture. Either choose a physical object, or find an interesting picture, and fully describe everything you experience. Use all of the senses, as well as describing any action taking place. Include as much detail as you can. Afterwards, go through what you have written to see what stands out. Some detail, description, or word might be the beginning of a poem.

Exercise 4: Color (“Nature Rarer Uses Yellow”) Choose a color and write a short poem in which the name of the color is often repeated. Try listing the images associated with that color, as well as the broader, symbolic associations of the color chosen. Also consider the personal associations that color has for you. Incorporate the color in the title if you can.

Adapted from “Five Poetry Writing Exercises” By Stacie Naczelnik and “Kalliope Poetry Exercise Workshop”

YOUR POEMS

Feeling hands my fears cradle in
Nourishing eyes reflecting all our pain
Tears soothe a parched throat
Cupped hands a drowning soul succour

Frank Walsh

Stare upon my wrinkled face,
Feel the cool of my knarled hand.
I am but a crumpled figure
To the point that I no longer stand.
I take my one last breath,
Breathe a last and lonesome sigh.
I am brought back from the brink,
I need saving one last time.
But I am past the point of no return,
My hourglass has run its course.
I’m faded and am gone,
To start again and live with worms!

Helena Sluman

1 Comment

  1. Helena said,

    It was a really fantastic evening and I had such a wonderful experience! Thank you!! Here is my poem, as asked for your delictation:
    Stare upon my wrinkled face,
    Feel the cool of my knarled hand.
    I am but a crumpled figure
    To the point that I no longer stand.
    I take my one last breath,
    Breathe a last and lonesome sigh.
    I am brought back from the brink,
    I need saving one last time.
    But I am past the point of no return,
    My hourglass has run its course.
    I’m faded and am gone,
    To start again and live with worms!

Leave a Reply

